Tutoring position - Education Teaching Training Resume Search
Tutoring position - Education Teaching Training Resume Search
My Spider Scam Awareness Contacting Us F. A. Q.
 
Job Seekers
Search Jobs
Browse Jobs
Post a Resume
Job Alerts
 
Employers
Search Resumes
Browse Resumes
Post a Job

Tutoring position Resume


Desired Industry: Education/Teaching/Training SpiderID: 56681
Desired Job Location: Oak View, California Date Posted: 12/30/2011
Type of Position: Full-Time Permanent Availability Date: 1-2-12
Desired Wage: $50,000
U.S. Work Authorization: Yes
Job Level: Experienced with over 2 years experience Willing to Travel: No
Highest Degree Attained: Bachelors Willing to Relocate: No


Objective:
Obtain Full Time Tutoring Position in Ventura or Santa Barbara County, CA.


Experience:
My Education Psychology knowledge and practical teaching experience in tutoring and speech therapy qualify me to teach your children a full range of academic subjects, along with applied logic and life lessons. In addition, I have completed 8 years of university coursework in academic subjects.

My Easter Seals speech therapy for children with special needs focused on language concepts more than articulation therapy. I worked within an inter-disciplinary approach with occupational therapists, physical therapists, psychologists and other doctors and surgeons to best meet the child’s needs. Many of my patients had SID (Sensory Integration Disorder) and/or ADHD, and I taught them successfully, even with their extreme behavioral issues. I found this to be very challenging yet gratifying.

My 4 years of home schooling 3 children (ages 2 through 13) resulted in AP class placements for all 3. In addition, I taught them excellent study skills and test preparation techniques. Tutoring in the full spectrum of subjects for my 6 step-children, ages 8 through 18, also had wonderful results. It was fun for us all!


Education:
I have completed 8 years of university coursework in academic subjects.

California State University Northridge, Northridge, Calif., 1990-1995
Bachelor of Arts, Communicative Disorders (Speech Pathology), GPA 3.9
• Completed 1 year of graduate work on master’s degree in Communicative Disorders
• Coursework included several Education Psychology classes
• 1994 first place Communicative Disorders Department Honors Award by vote of professors

Los Angeles Valley College, Van Nuys, Calif., 1989-1990
Associate degree

University of Oregon, Eugene, Ore., 1971-1972 (ages 18-19)
English major, GPA 4.0

Southern Utah State University, Cedar City, Utah, 1970-1971
(ages 17-18)
English major with Linguistics minor, GPA 4.0

Los Angeles Valley College, Van Nuys, Calif., 1969-1970
(ages 16-17)
Honors program for concurrent high school & college credits, GPA 5.0


The Communicative Disorders degree included my teaching credential for speech pathology in the schools.


Skills:
Two very important “subjects” your children will learn are “Self Confidence” and “Use of Imagination.” My play-based teaching method has wonderful results using my knack for creating spur-of-the-moment learning “games,” and using alternate descriptions and examples of concepts, with which your children can personally relate. (I am a “way out of the box” teacher.) I believe, of course, that kids need to understand the concepts involved in order to retain the facts. I do not use a formal, strict teaching method, but rather positive reinforcement of their learning. I teach your children within the constructs of their interests, whenever possible. I work with them as their “coach,” and my enthusiasm for learning is contagious. Use of educational computer games and movies are also useful. A component of the tutoring I provide is training in computer programs related to their lessons.

My belief is that every situation is a learning opportunity to be seized. An example is teaching fractions and percentages with groups of your children’s favorite toys, etc.

To provide a greater variety of activities, I will give your children several breaks in which to expend physical energy, followed by yoga or relaxation techniques to transition to learning mode again. In a park setting, I will teach tennis, baseball, or basketball depending on your children’s interests.


Additional Information:
Proficient in Microsoft Office programs
Hobbies include bodysurfing, hiking, wakeboarding, and reading


Reference:
Available upon request.


Candidate Contact Information:
JobSpider.com has chosen not to make contact information available on this page.
Click "Contact Candidate" to send this candidate a response.


    





© 2020 Job Spider
Privacy Policy | CC Marketing Sites | Site Map | Links